+91 11 23415601 Mon to Sat 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM


Dzongkhag in Bhutan

A dzongkhag (Dzongkha: -dzongkhak) is an administrative and judicial district of Bhutan. The twenty dzongkhags of Bhutan are more separated into 205 gewogs. Some larger dzongkhags have one or more of an intermediate judicial division, known asasdungkhags (sub-districts), which themselves consist of two or even more gewogs. The Parliament of Bhutan passed legislation in 2002 and 2007 on the status, structure, and leadership of city governments, consisting of dzongkhags. It’s most recent regulations pertaining to dzongkhags are the Local Government Act of 2009.

Until 1956, Bhutan had actually 9 districts headed by the penlops: Byakar (focused in present day Bumthang), Dukye, Haa, Paro, Punakha, Dagana, Thimphu, Trongsa, as well as Wangdue Phodrang. Later, the nation was rearranged into dzongkhags. Under the initiative of 4th Druk Gyalpo King Jigme Singye Wangchuk, the procedure of decentralization of local administration started in 1981.The formation of the incipient Dzongkhag YargyeTshogchung (district advancement committee, "DYT") in each dzongkhag. The DYT of each dzongkhag consisted of all the Gups (headmen), Mangmis (deputies), and also Chimis (National Assembly representatives) of the dzongkhag. The Chairperson is elected from the DYT participants on their own. The DYT may additionally consist of the representatives of the communities as well as the towns within the dzonkhag. The DYTs additionally have non-voting members, that include the dzongdag, the dungpa (where a dungkhag exists) and also the dzongkhag officials from various fields such as the dzongkhag intending police officer, the dzongkhag finance officer, the dzongkhag education policeman, the dzongkhag principal designer, the dzongkhag farming police officer, the dzongkhag forestry police officer, the dzongkhaganimal husbandry police officer, and the dzongkhaghealth officer.

In August 1987, the area of Gasadzongkhag was divided in between Punakha and Thimphu; Chhukhadzongkhag was formed by merging the components of Samtse, Paro, and Thimphu. In 1992, Gasadzongkhag was re-established and took from Punakha; the very same year, TrashiYangtsedzongkhag was carved out from Trashigang.

Sightseeing Places in Dzongkhag